Home > NFL > 2011 NFL Playoff Results?

2011 NFL Playoff Results?

UPDATE 1/10/11:  Yep, I went 2-2 over the weekend (see below)…UPDATE 1/17/11: Another .500 weekend

On Monday morning, I often hear “Oh I knew the Bengals would upset the Packers,” or “I’d have won some big money if only I bet on the Chargers to cover the spread.”

More often than not, I am the one uttering those words.  According to myself, I’d have won at least $30 million by now, owned a villa in Milan, and bought my mother a Lamborghini Murcielago due to my genius sports prediction skills.

Now, I challenge myself in my 2011 NFL Playoff Predictor, created on January 4, 2011, 4 days until the actual NFL playoffs begin.

SATURDAY, JAN. 8
No. 6 New York Jets (11-5) at No. 3 Indianapolis Colts (10-6)
Lucas Oil Stadium, 8 p.m. ET, NBC
PREDICTED WINNER: COLTS 35-31 UPDATE:  JETS WIN 17-16
SUNDAY, JAN. 9
No. 5 Baltimore Ravens (12-4) at No. 4 Kansas City Chiefs (10-6)
Arrowhead Stadium, 1 p.m. ET, CBS
PREDICTED WINNER: RAVENS 28-14   UPDATE:  RAVENS WIN 30-7

AFC divisional round

SATURDAY, JAN. 15
No. 3 Indianapolis Colts at No. 2 Pittsburgh Steelers (12-4)
Heinz Field, 4:30 p.m. ET, CBS PREDICTED WINNER: COLTS 38-35 OT STEELERS WIN
 

SUNDAY, JAN. 16
No. 5 Baltimore Ravens at No. 1 New England Patriots (14-2)
Gillette Stadium, 4:30 p.m. ET, CBS
PREDICTED WINNER: PATRIOTS 33-28 JETS WIN

AFC Championship Game

SUNDAY, JAN. 23
Indianapolis Colts at No. 1 New England Patriots New York Jets @ Pittsburgh Steelers
Site TBD, 6:30 p.m. ET, CBS
PREDICTED WINNER: PATRIOTS 34-24

NFC wild-card round

SATURDAY, JAN. 8
No. 5 New Orleans Saints (11-5) at No. 4 Seattle Seahawks (7-9)
Qwest Field, 4:30 p.m. ET, NBC
PREDICTED WINNER: SAINTS 42-10 UPDATE:  SEAHAWKS WIN 41-36
SUNDAY, JAN. 9
No. 6 Green Bay Packers (10-6) at No. 3 Philadelphia Eagles (10-6)
Lincoln Financial Field, 4:30 p.m. ET, FOX
PREDICTED WINNER: PACKERS 28-27    UPDATE:  PACKERS WIN 21-16

NFC divisional round

SATURDAY, JAN. 15
Green Bay Packers at No. 1 Atlanta Falcons (13-3)
Georgia Dome, 8 p.m. ET, FOX
PREDICTED WINNER: FALCONS 33-28 PACKERS WIN
SUNDAY, JAN. 16
New Orleans Saints at No. 2 Chicago Bears (11-5)
Soldier Field, 1 p.m. ET, FOX
PREDICTED WINNER: BEARS 21-17

NFC Championship Game

SUNDAY, JAN. 23
Chicago Bears at Atlanta Falcons vs Green Bay Packers
Site TBD, 3 p.m. ET, FOX
PREDICTED WINNER: FALCONS 17-14

Super Bowl XLV

SUNDAY, FEB. 6
New England Patriots vs. Atlanta Falcons
Cowboys Stadium, Arlington, Texas, 6:30 p.m. ET, FOX
PREDICTED WINNER: PATRIOTS 35-21MVP: TOM BRADY  

CO-MVP:  TOM BRADY’S HAIR

Now, I know I went with the #1 seeds in each Conference, and took the easy way out on Brady and the Pats, but let’s be honest you can’t stop Brady or Belichik.  It will be fun to see Boston College alum, Matt Ryan, lead his Falcons against the Boston’s beloved Patriots.  I’ll place my bets now, and look forward to driving my lambo on Feb 7.

  1. January 9, 2015 at 6:30 pm

    Good article. I’m dealing with a few of these issues as well..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

